DAFC.net
Home 10 December 2019 
 Post Message  |  Top of Board  |  Go to Topic  |  Search  |  Twitter Updates  |  Log In   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 
[ please login to use the Like feature ]
 Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: renegade master  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 10:29

I was always under the impression a keeper could not kick from hand to score?
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/50560226
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: veteraneastender  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 11:00

I mind a couple or so from the 1960s, often shown on telly then.

Alex Stepney was one if memory serves - cue Sammer.

Pat Jennings was another -

https://www.irishnews.com/sport/2016/12/01/news/pat-jennings-and-other-notable-goalkeepers-who-have-scored-memorable-goals-814170/

Update - Stepney was on the receiving end - DOH !!!



Post Edited (Wed 27 Nov 11:05)
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: Playup_Pompey  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 11:41

Perfectly within laws of the game

[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: rossmcno1  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 12:00

Andy Goram v Morton for Hibs in 1988.



[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: kelty_par  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 13:27

Can't score from a goal kick but any other clearance from the goalkeeper would be a valid goal (apart from an indirect free kick of course).
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: Ronaldo  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 13:37


I saw Hamish McAlpine, playing for Raith, score from a kick-out in the dying minutes on a very dry pitch at Rugby Park in 1987. The match was 3-3 at the time and his goal was the winner. Still the most unexpected twist I've witnessed at a match. Shame he couldn't do the same when he played for us!
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: AdamAntsParsStripe  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 15:48

Question is, why would the OP think a keeper couldn't score from hands? The ball is in play.

If you only turn up to moan then do it elsewhere
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: allanwilson10  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 16:19

AAPS - the ball is in play from a goal kick and a throw in but you can't score from them. The OP was just mistaken.
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: moviescot  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 16:40

Quote:

kelty_par, Wed 27 Nov 13:27

Can't score from a goal kick but any other clearance from the goalkeeper would be a valid goal (apart from an indirect free kick of course).


Rule 16

A goal can be scored directly from a goal kick against the opposing team. An own goal cannot be scored from a goal kick; in the highly unlikely circumstance that the ball enters the kicker's own goal before being touched by another player, a corner kick is awarded.
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: parsfan  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 17:53

Quote:

allanwilson10, Wed 27 Nov 16:19

AAPS - the ball is in play from a goal kick and a throw in but you can't score from them. The OP was just mistaken.


Both of those introduce the ball into play, AAPS's point was that the ball was already in play.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The universe is ruled by chance and indifference
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: Buspasspar  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 18:00

I think his kick was just outside the box ah-la Henry Smith which from his hand would render it no goal ....... close but I am sure VAR would have ruled it no goal :-)
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: moviescot  
Date:   Wed 27 Nov 19:48

Quote:

Buspasspar, Wed 27 Nov 18:00

I think his kick was just outside the box ah-la Henry Smith which from his hand would render it no goal ....... close but I am sure VAR would have ruled it no goal :-)


That was a valid goal. The ball was slightly out of the box but it left his hands inside the box. Goal.

You can score direct from a goal kick. You cannot score an own goal from a goal kick. If you do that it's a corner to the opposition.

You cannot score direct from a throw in. If you throw it into the opponent's goal they get a goal kick. If you throw it into your own net it's a corner to your opponents

Post Edited (Wed 27 Nov 19:49)
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Goal or not.......
Topic Originator: FA1968  
Date:   Fri 29 Nov 09:47

I demand a statement from the Board as to why our keeper has never scored from a kick out. And why SC seems unable to coach this.
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Top of Board  |  Forum List  |  Threaded View   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 


 Forum List  |  Need a Login? Register Here 
 User Login
 User Name:
 Password:
 Remember my login:
   
 Forgot Your Password?
Enter your email address or user name below and a new password will be sent to the email address associated with your profile.
Security : type 'pars' in the box:
email: