DAFC.net
Home 20 September 2021 
 Post Message  |  Top of Board  |  Go to Topic  |  Search  |  Twitter Updates  |  Log In   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 
[ please login to use the Like feature ]
 Izatt Avenue
Topic Originator: red-star-par  
Date:   Sun 23 May 23:07

Read a fascinating story on Facebook today about Dunfermline streets and didn't realise the story behind the naming of this street.
From Wikipedia-
"David Heron Izatt (1892 – 1 July 1916) was a Scottish professional footballer who played in the Scottish League for Dunfermline Athletic. 62 games and 7 goals for The Pars between 1912 and 1915.

Izatt was a plumber by trade. Soon after the outbreak of the First World War in August 1914, he enlisted as a private in the Royal Scots. Izatt was killed in Sausage Valley on the first day of the Somme and is commemorated on the Thiepval Memorial."
Surprisingly, I had never heard about him previously. As far as I know there isn't a memorial to him at the ground, but perhaps I've missed it
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Izatt Avenue
Topic Originator: Raymie the Legend  
Date:   Sun 23 May 23:59

Thanks for sharing. I never knew that either

It's bloody tough being a legend
Ron Atkinson - 1983
[IP address logged]
Topic Originator: Frank Butchers LoveHandles  
Date:   Mon 24 May 01:14

Cheers for letting me know. We used to live in Brucefield in the early/mid 90s and we used to play football on Johnston Green next to Izatt Avenue - proper 20 v 20 matches with all the kids in the area with the Bus Shelter as goals at one end and a couple of jackets laid at the other end. Great days!

Awight Pat!

Post Edited (Mon 24 May 01:15)
[IP address logged]
Topic Originator: The Roy Barry Fan Club  
Date:   Mon 24 May 11:11