DAFC.net
Home 28 March 2024 
 Post Message  |  Top of Board  |  Search  |  Log In   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 
[ please login to use the Like feature ]
 calling all car buffs
Topic Originator: Buspasspar  
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:07

My local garage has a 2012 Mercedes for sale with 25,000 miles its a C 180 petrol automatic .. The question is would I be daft to buy an 8 year old Merc ..BTW it is immaculate and been well looked after.. any help advice is always appreciated
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: calling all car buffs
Topic Originator: The One Who Knocks  
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:13

I'm no car expert whatsoever but I'd imagine that the maintenance and repair bill when it is required for a Merc could be substantial.

And although my eyes were open
They just might as well be closed
[IP address logged]
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:15

Was thinking that as well Towk also how long before it needs things done It is a stunning car tho
[IP address logged]
Topic Originator: widtink  
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:19

A quick Google of the make/model /year of the car should bring up any inherent problems.
Do an hp check.
Cars mot history can also be checked online so you know what's been done to it over the years.
If all that looks good go for it... Lots of cheap motors out there just now.
Oh... Take someone who knows about motors with you when you go for a wee look.

Admin
[IP address logged]
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:34

Done the MOT thing widtink and all good no advisory's apart from a tyre since 2015 It really has been well looked after ... BUT and it is a BIG but I have never bought a car older than my current one ... I suppose its a gamble it could outlast me or cost me all my pension :)
[IP address logged]
Topic Originator: widtink  
Date:   Fri 10 Jul 20:49

Buying any motor is a gamble mate.
But if you make all the right checks and take the advice of someone who knows a bit about motors you can lessen the risk.

Admin