DAFC.net
Home 24 April 2024 
 Post Message  |  Top of Board  |  Search  |  Log In   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 
[ please login to use the Like feature ]
 Explain it to me.
Topic Originator: Berry  
Date:   Tue 12 Mar 21:16

Ok, please someone help me. I have no affiliation to any party and I'm not an expert in politics so don't want to get into a debate about it as I wouldn't stand a chance but there are many people like me who are surely just confused.

Theresa May got battered tonight with the Brexit deal.

1. Triggering of Article 50

That was voted in favour for by the house, despite us clearly not having a clue how we were really going to proceed.

2. The Deal

TM is a remainer, but to her credit has always said she would deliver what the people voted for.

The EU before she even started negotiations would have been miffed so she was always going to face a difficult challenge. You can't say you're leaving and fully dictate terms?

She came with a deal which was ridiculed, fair enough, she went back again and tried again, she came back, it was made crystal clear this was the best offer we were going to get, and she reiterated several times that if not accepted we run the risk of a no deal...so why has it been voted against?

The house want TM to promise they won't leave without a deal, how on earth can she agree to that when every deal just gets rejected. It's that or nothing?

3. SNP

Keep banging on about how Scotland didn't vote for Brexit, we didn't vote for independence so we have to suck it up and go with the majority vote of the UK, a UK we voted to stay within.

So what are the options being pitched..

A) Referendum