DAFC.net
Home 19 April 2024 
 Post Message  |  Top of Board  |  Search  |  Log In   Forum Rules  |  Newer Topic  |  Older Topic  |  end 
[ please login to use the Like feature ]
 Mainstream media
Topic Originator: calpar  
Date:   Sat 16 Feb 10:57

This description applies to what exactly in peoples opinion ?
Personally, cos I work in IT am on interweb daily for hours, i occasionally google stuff, and get allsorts of info from goodness knows where, but normally i start off with my daily news update from bbc, cos its as believable as anywhere imo

If i find an article of specific interest, as i said, i often google to find other slants on it, and that often finds some absolute hogwash imo

so, where exactly do you find ‘the truth’ ?
Personally, the term msm seems at least condescending to me, and again at least, a lot of peesh, cos all media is now mainstream 🤔
[IP address logged]
Report Abuse   Reply To This Message
 Re: Mainstream media
Topic Originator: richie5401  
Date:   Sat 16 Feb 12:27

I would settle for the facts in news reporting instead of the endless biased opinion from all outlets.

Fact checking is secondary to getting to the "breaking news" first.
[IP address logged]
Topic Originator: OzPar  
Date:   Sat 16 Feb 13:20

I still tend to think of the mainstream media in the traditional sense; in other words, the main newspapers, news magazines, TV stations, radio stations - what we have had for decades, in some cases, with newspapers, centuries. All of these have commuted to the web, some more successfully than others.

In the past 20 years or so there has been the development of New Media; websites that operate pretty much along traditional lines employing professional journalists and commentators who are experts in their fields. In the main, their output on the web can be every bit as good as their traditional news counterparts (oft times better) and increasingly it is becoming difficult to argue that they are not a part of the mainstream media too.